Reviews Is-the-PureVPN-the-best-alternative-to-hidemyass

Published on August 23rd, 2013 | by Michael Allen

6

Could PureVPN be the Alternative to Hidemyass?

News: (February 19, 2017):

To celebrate its 6 years in business, PureVPN is having a big promotion (65% OFF).
Check it out

Is PureVPN, an alternative to Hide-My-Ass? I certainly think so! 375 servers in 74 countries with over 60.000 IPs offer a lot of flexibility. No bandwidth restrictions and a 99.9% uptime guarantee keep your connection safe at all times. So how does it stack up?

Get Started

Get started with PureVPNThe email I received after signing up contained all the information I needed to get PureVPN up and running. I first tried to setup the dialer manually which didn't end well, so I succumbed and downloaded their software for Mac. A few clicks later, I was connected.

PureVPN's dialer turned out to be very easy to use and feature packed, all you have to do is enter the login details you received in your welcome email and the dialer does the rest.

 

 

 

The dialer also includes a handy "Server Selection Tool" which allows you to choose a server by purpose or country, making the server selection process very easy even for a VPN novice. You can download the PureVPN automatic dialer from here.

Speed

I really liked the connection speeds I got during my 2 week trial, mostly only slightly slower than the actual connection speed without VPN, sweet! Of course speeds varied by server and distance just like with any other VPN I have used.

PureVPN's Server Selection Tool combined with their Intelligent VPN Server Speed Test Tool make it very easy to find the fastest server for what you intend to do. I streamed movies and TV (even in HD) from the UK and Germany in the US without a problem.

A word about speed and testing speed: I mean the speed I got when I fired up the dialer and used speedtest.net. This speed will vary and depends on a lot of different factors along the route the packets must travel. The best way to test a VPN is to sign up for a test account, something all providers I tested offer, and try it from your computer, with your network connection and for your intended purpose.

Features

  • Compatibility

    PureVPN provides VPN client software for Windows, Mac, Linux. The tutorials and step-by-step instructions on their website can help you easily setup the service on almost any device. You can quickly connect to PureVPN, just enter your login credentials and click "Quick Connect".

    How-to-quickly-connect-to-VPN

  • Security

    In contrast to other VPN services PureVPN supports port forwarding and dedicated IP. No matter which plan you choose, all connections are 256-bit SSL encrypted.

    PureVPN also offers "Secure DNS", which allows you to hide your DNS queries from your ISP which could blow your anonymity right out of the water. This is an easy-to-miss step, so please make sure you know where you are sending your DNS lookups BEFORE you go out there!

  • Static IP

    PureVPN is one of the few VPN providers that offers a dedicated IP address which you can easily add to your subscription for USD 2/month. A dedicated IP is a great way for you and your family or employees to securely access your home or small business network.

  • Split Tunneling

    PureVPN supports split tunneling. Simply put, split tunneling enables a part of your network traffic to go through the VPN connection while the rest goes through your local network connection. This means you can access a public network (e.g., the Internet) and a local LAN at the same time, using the same physical network connection.

    One of the reasons people use "split tunneling" is to conserve bandwidth because it improves the overall speed of your network as only part of your Internet traffic need to go through the VPN tunnel. To learn how to best use this feature, click here for a detailed explanation.

    Split Tunneling

Support

The support section on their website is quite extensive and answers most, even advanced technical, questions like, how to send and receive email, connect to Skype, Facebook, Twitter and other social media sites in countries that block those services etc. I recently tried their real-time chat, there was no wait, and I received an answer immediately.

Privacy

PureVPN does not log any user activity (DNS lookups, emails, etc.) period! PureVPN's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy are pretty straight forward (and easy to read too!): they won't share personal information unless required by law enforcement with proper documents in hand, which is pretty standard.

Being located in Hong Kong gives you an extra bit of security, as it would be rather difficult for law enforcement to get the proper local court orders.

Price

Prices start at USD 9.95 for monthly subscriptions, with discounts for longer subscription terms. No matter which subscription length you choose, you can add a dedicated IP for USD 2/month.

All plans include, unlimited data transfer, unrestricted speed, unlimited server switching, unlimited support and now also simultaneous login for up to 5 devices, cool!

PureVPN is one of the few providers that offers corporate plans with prices starting at USD 275/month for 25 users and up, so if you are paying for individual VPN subscriptions for your employees, you might want to look at that!

HOT: You can get unlimited data transfer, plus save $56 per year through this link.

The Bottom Line

PureVPN offers privacy and great speed at a very competitive price. Sure you can find cheaper providers, but, as always, you get what you pay for.

You can't beat the security a Hong Kong based company has to offer. They have been around since 2006 and even provide corporate plans in addition to personal VPN service, so they know what they are doing.

Overall I think you can't go wrong choosing PureVPN. If you do, consider signing up for one of their yearly plans, this will save you serious money and drop the price below levels of many other providers.
Check it outThanks, not interested.

Image Credit: Mr Michael Pham

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 8.1/10 (16 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
Could PureVPN be the Alternative to Hidemyass?, 8.1 out of 10 based on 16 ratings

Tags: , ,


About the Author

Michael started writing professionally in his 20s and has since written on topics including online security, privacy and VPN.



  • yes purevpn is a good vpn provider, i like this service!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • J

    dont use PureVPN funny that we talk here about security but some skimmy company ask u to email them your personal passport details. maybe u should have check that while testing them. Also would be wise to see how their support works.. this is also lacking.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • magnus

      J – We always test a VPN providers support and there wasn’t anything remarkable about PureVPN, they responded to our anonymous inquiries promptly with usable answers… but you are right, we forgot to mention that in the review.

      I wouldn’t send passport details to anyone via email, unless I trust the company (like my bank for example) AND the email would be encrypted. I don’t see any reason to share such personal details with any VPN provider, not just PureVPN. So far I had not heard of any VPN provider asking for passport details…

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Billy Bob Splivens

    I just signed with PureVPN using Paypal account,

    i can verify that PureVPN will ask for IDENTITY VERIFICATION after paying,

    at first I replied with copy of PureVPN paid invoice & copy of my USA registered company in GA,

    that did NOT qualify and received another email asking for ID cards: below is copy

    ======= this was 2nd email ================

    Hi,

    Thanks for sharing the same. We regret to inform you that we will not be able to issue you account on behalf of these document. Please share an image /scan copy of any non-confidential document like ID Card, Passport, Driving License etc. with us then we will proceed accordingly.

    Please acknowledge, as we repeat, these steps are merely intended to protect your identity from online fraud and to establish legitimacy of this transaction.

    Thanks,

    PureVPN Support Team

    ==========================

    ============= THIS IS THE FIRST EMAIL from PureVPN requesting PERSONAL INFO =============

    Verification Method – PayPal Users:

    If you have paid via PayPal, AlertPay or MoneyBookers kindly send us image / scan of any other official document having your name on it. It should not be web based.

    Verification Method – Send us Blacked-out Copy of your Credit Card:

    Kindly email us a scanned copy or photograph of your credit card’s front end to enquiry@purevpn.com (Please leave last 4 digits visible, black out the rest). There is absolutely no security risk as you would black out most of the digits on your credit card. Why we need this? Well, again, we need to see that name you used in transaction + the last 4 digits.

    =================================

    I scanned some old ID cards from Microsoft Programs and other Professional orgs – no signatures or personal data such as Date of Birth, address, Driver License, etc…..

    These cards did have printed name and other ID numbers that mean nothing for personal info.

    After this, I DID RECEIVE valid PureVPN login that works.

    I think PureVPN needs better way to authenticate person to account after purchase.

    Not sure exactly what to suggest !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • johnjohn

    As per billy bob below. They requested a scan of my credit card as i paid through paypal. Legit or not, there was no warning about this before applying. So i’ve requested a refund so that I may pay using credit card directly. That was 3 days ago, ive had no response, no access to the service and have been charged. The VPN service may be good but this is dreadful.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • magnus

      In PureVPN’s defense I refer you to their Terms of Service which clearly state that they may ask for additional information if they classify a user as a potential risk:

      “PureVPN hereby states that, no accounts would be offered to clients residing in African nations except South Africa. This step had to be taken in awake of increasing complaints on fraudulent activities originating from Nigeria. However, PureVPN reserves its right to allow any one as an exception to get an account , on receipt of government Issued IDs or Landline phone.. Anyone who tries to bypass checks will immediately get his account terminated. All fraudulent activities may be reported to the respective police and related law enforcement authorities. 

      In order to serve our legitimate customers, like yourself, with a VPN network that is free from troubles/downtime we have employed a stringent Anti-Fraud Policy. If our anti-fraud system rates your transaction as a ‘potential risk’, you will be requested to go through a verification process. The mere purpose of asking for such verification is the fact that we need to keep fraudsters away and because we believe you are a genuine customer you will have no issues in choosing from one of the options offered to you e.g. Send us a blank email from non-free email address, Send us any NON-CONFIDENTIAL Document etc.”

      Unfortunately, most people never read the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy they are agreeing to. While their service works, their support is basically OK. I wouldn’t be inclined to send documents verifying my identity to an unknown company based in Hong Kong. Have you considered using a different VPN provider?

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Back to Top ↑